Artistic Directors & Associate Directors (1976 - 1995)

This page looks at the creative and administrative executives involved with the Stephen Joseph Theatre in the Round between 1976 and 1995; for other creatives at other points between 1955 and 2008, please visit the relative venue page.

This page details the role and people who held the position of Artistic Director and Associate Directors between 1976 and 1995.

Artistic Directors

Between 1976 and 1995, after the company left Theatre in the Round at the Library Theatre and before it moved to the Stephen Joseph Theatre, there was just one Artistic Director of the company at the Stephen Joseph Theatre in the Round..

Between 1955 and 2009 (with the exception of just 1971), the role of Artistic Director was either unpaid (1955 - 1971) or no wage was claimed (1972 - 2009); it essentially only became a paid position from 2009.

Alan Ayckbourn (1972 - 2009)
Robin Herford (1986 - 1988) *

* During 1986, Alan Ayckbourn took a two year sabbatical at the National Theatre and Associate Director Robin Herford was appointed Artistic Director (variously called Artistic Director, Co-Artistic Director and Associate Artistic Director) dealing with the day-to-day running and artistic direction of the Stephen Joseph Theatre In The Round, although Alan Ayckbourn was still the overall Artistic Director during this period.

Associate Director (1976 - 2009)

At various points in the history of the company, Associate Directors (occasionally known as Assistant Directors) were also appointed.

Mervyn Watson (1976)
Robin Herford (1980 - 1983)
Malcolm Hebden (1984)
Robin Herford (1985)
Stephen Mallatratt (1986 - 1987)
Malcolm Hebden (1990 - 1995)

All research for this section by Simon Murgatroyd. Please do not reproduce without crediting Simon Murgatroyd and the website.