Artistic Directors & Associate Directors (1955 - 1976)

This page looks at the creative and administrative executives involved with Theatre in the Round at the Library Theatre between 1955 and 1976; for other creatives at other points between 1955 and 2008, please visit the relative venue page.

This page details the role and people who held the position of Artistic Director and Director of Productions between 1955 and 1976.

Artistic Directors

Between 1955 and 1976, when the company moved from Theatre in the Round at the Library Theatre to Theatre in the Round at Westwood, there were two Artistic Directors of the company..

Until 1965, the title of this position was designated both Artistic Director or Director Of Productions - for the purpose of this page, Director Of Productions is considered the annually appointed role between 1967 and 1971.

Between 1955 and 1976 (with the exception of just 1971), the role of Artistic Director was either unpaid (1955 - 1970) or no wage was claimed (1972 - 2008); it essentially only became a paid position from 2009.

Stephen Joseph (1955 - 1965)
Alan Ayckbourn (1972 - 2009)

Director of Productions

Following Stephen Joseph's death in 1967, the person responsible for artistic decisions and programming was appointed on a seasonal basis by the Scarborough Theatre Trust board each year. A Director Of Productions was appointed each year from 1967 - 1972. Alan Ayckbourn was then appointed Artistic Director at the end of the 1972 season. The role was unpaid (although accommodation was made available) for each year except in 1971 when Caroline Smith was paid £35 a week.

Rodney Wood (1967 - 1968)
Alan Ayckbourn (1969 - 1970)
Caroline Smith (1971)
Alan Ayckbourn (1972)

All research for this section by Simon Murgatroyd. Please do not reproduce without crediting Simon Murgatroyd and the website.