Sound Design (1955 - 2008)

This page lists the sound designers - where known - for professional, main-house productions at the Stephen Joseph Theatre between 1996 and 2008.

It is drawn entirely from surviving programmes and material in archive and whilst comprehensive, it cannot be seen as definitive due the limitations of the information held in archive (please see
Research Notes for further details).
Note: Compiling a list of Sound Designers is extremely difficult as Sound Design has rarely been acknowledged in the SJT programmes - even as late as the 2010s. As a result, there is no means of creating a fully comprehensive list of Sound Designers - and, as a result, many of the people featured below will have productions not credited and many designers will not be credited at all.

It should also be noted that Alan Ayckbourn was responsible for the sound design of practically every play he directed from the mid 1960s to the 1990s - and in many cases to the present day. There is no comprehensive list, but Alan Ayckbourn was the sound designer for hundreds of productions over the course of his role as Artistic Director of the company.

Alan Ayckbourn: Practically every Ayckbourn play produced since 1967 and - in all probability - the majority of shows by other writers he directed between 1961 and 2002.
Steve Carley:
Purvis (2006); Storm In A Tea Chest (2006); The Prodigal Son (2006)
Julie Davis: Two's Company (2002); The Hope (2002); The Kaiser And I (2002); River's Up (2002); Wor Tony And The Great White Shark (2002); A Day Like Today (2002); Red Roses (2002)
Osman Dervish: Thumbelina (2003); The Ugly Duckling (2004); Spending Frank (2005)
Neil Hobbs: Split (2001); Secondhand Dreams (2001)
Matt Roper: Caution! Trousers (2005); Clearing The Colours (2005); Moby Dick (2005)
Paul Stear: Dot.Com (1999)
Ben Vickers: Beautiful People (2002); Making Waves (2003); Tissue Paper For The Soul (2003); The Anniversary Waltz (2003); Fields Of Gold (2004); Private Fears in Public Places (2005); The Genie And The Meanie (2005); Villette (2005)
Roland Whiteley: Skylight (2006)

All research for this section by Simon Murgatroyd. Please do not reproduce without crediting Simon Murgatroyd and the website.